## **Chapter Awards and Recipients**

Any member of Omicron Tau may nominate an individual for one of these chapter awards. Send appropriate nomination form (see links below) to the Chair of the Awards Committee: Dr. Marita Hoffart, Minot State University, 500 University Ave West, Minot, ND 58707, or email to marita.hoffart@minotstateu.edu, or fax to 701-858-4309.

**ORCHID AWARD:** Recognizes a chapter member who has promoted the development of the chapter's functions and activities.

#### Criteria

- Promotes the image of nursing at the local, state, or national level.
- Participates actively in the activities of Omicron Tau Chapter.
- Demonstrates outstanding leadership and participation in chapter functions.
- Serves as an inspirational role model for chapter volunteerism and leadership.

A written account which supports an individual chapter member's nomination is required <a href="Nomination Form">Nomination Form</a> Include the name of potential award recipient, contact information and an essay of 200-500 words describing why this member should be recognized for the Orchid award.

#### **Recipients**:

Melissa Fettig (2019)
Heather Sys (2018)
Ashley DeMakis (2016)
Janis Neumann (2014)
Teresa Seright (2011)
Rhoda Owens (2010)
Linda Schaefer (2009)
Dr. Linda Pettersen (2008)
Nancy Vitko (2007)
Dr. Marita Hoffart (2006)
Linda Haider (2005)
Judy Swanson (2004)
Diane Freiberg (2003)

**BEST PRACTICE AWARDS:** Recognizes chapter members who have demonstrated excellence in nursing practice.

#### NURSES WHO HAVE BEEN IN CLINICAL PRACTICE LESS THAN 10 YEARS:

## Criteria

- Employed in any area of nursing practice for less than 10 years.
- Demonstrates exemplary work for the health of individuals, families, or groups.

- Demonstrates active involvement in chapter activities.
- Licensed to practice nursing.

A written account which supports the individual's nomination must be submitted to the Chapter Awards Committee Nomination Form Include the name of potential award recipient, contact information and an essay of 200-500 words describing why this member should be recognized.

## **Recipients:**

Sylvia Wages (2019)
Kylie Mindt (2017)
Keri Larson; Jordana Kane (2016)
Kiley Andreas (2014)
Jennifer Woiwode (2013)
Melissa Fettig (2010)
Christine Nelson (2009)
Amy Roberts (2008)
Terry Evers (2007)

#### NURSES WHO HAVE BEEN IN CLINICA PRACTICE MORE THAN 10 YEARS:

#### Criteria

- Employed in any area of nursing practice for more than 10 years.
- Demonstrates exemplary work for the health of individuals, families, or groups.
- Demonstrates active involvement in chapter activities.
- Licensed to practice nursing.

A written account which supports the individual's nomination must be submitted to the Chapter Awards Committee. Nomination Form Include the name of potential award recipient, contact information and an essay of 200-500 words describing why this member should be recognized.

#### **Recipients:**

Carla Robillard, Deb Hoverson (2018)
Diane Sjol (2017)
Linda Adam (2016)
Nicole Medalen (2015)
Alyce Killmer (2014)
Nicola Roed (2013)

Judy Beck, Heidi Bender, Heather Sys (2012)

Sandy Boschee (2010)

LuAnn Henning (2009) - Best Clinical Practice Award Laurie Dimler (2008) - Best Clinical Practice Award

Dr. Susan Porterfield (2007) - Best Practice in Advanced Clinical Practice and Teaching Award Corrine Semmen (2006) - Best Practice in Leadership Award

## Linda Wright (2005) - Best Practice in Leadership Award Bonnie Ler (2005) - Best Practice in Advanced Clinical Practice Role

#### **MENTORSHIP AWARD:**

#### Criteria

- One student leader
- Awarded membership for 1 year
- Represent Omicron Tau at Student Nurse events
- Help collaborate with NSA.

## **Recipients**:

Kelly Wu (2018)

#### CONGRATULATIONS! CHPATER KEY AWARD - OMICRON TAU

2017 - 4-TIME RECIPIENT

# CONGRATULATIONS! REGIONALCHAPTER EXCELLENCE AWARD - OMICRON TAU - REGION 4



Programs include a Scholarship and Research Program, collaboration with local nursing organizations, the North Dakota Summit on Patient Safety, an annual Nurse Week Wine and Cheese Tasting reception, a "Fun Run" 10K/5K Run and 1 Mile Walk, and the chapter's annual Orchid and Best Practice Awards. (Knowledge, Leadership, Service and Communities)

## 2016 Showcase of Regional Excellence

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement for Presidential Call to Action - <u>Lifelong Learning</u> - Signed November 9, 2016

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement for Presidential Call to Action - <u>Philanthropy</u> - Signed- November 9, 2016

## 2019 Showcase of Regional Excellence

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement for Presidential Call to Action -  $\underline{\text{Connect}}$  - Signed March 18, 2019

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement for Presidential Call to Action -  $\underline{\text{Catalyze}}$  - Signed- March 18, 2019

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement for Presidential Call to Action -  $\frac{\text{Collaborate}}{\text{Collaborate}}$  - Signed- March 18, 2019