COLLEGE OF BUSINESS SCHOLARSHIP

The College of Business at Minot State University was organized into a separate academic unit in 1927. Prior to that time (from 1913 to 1927), it existed as an academic area offering special certificates in commercial studies. In 1919, the list of certificates expanded to include typewriting and school accounting, both for students in teacher preparation programs. During the early 1920s, the curriculum was enhanced to include penmanship, spelling, shorthand, and accounting. The most significant organizational change occurred in the fall of 1984. The Division of Business was renamed and restructured as the School of Business (shortly thereafter, it was again renamed as the College of Business). The School/College of Business consisted of the following academic departments: Accounting and Business Law, Office Administration and Business Education, and Business Administration. While those departments remain to this day, two of them have modified their names slightly in the early 2000s. The Accounting and Business Law Department is now the Department of Accounting and Finance and the Office Administration and Business Education Department is now the Department of Business Information Technology. The College of Business scholarship is funded by donations from the College of Business employees, alumni, and friends.